NR_key_name: SendTo: CopyTo:	9A423EC3A0DC2F67852566080064D4CC CN=Eileen Sullivan/O=ARRB @ ARRB
DisplayBlindCopyTo:	
BlindCopyTo:	CN=R ecord/O=ARRB
From:	CN=Eileen Sullivan/O=ARRB
DisplayFromDomain:	
DisplayDate:	05/18/1998
DisplayDate_Time:	2:24:14 PM
ComposedDate:	05/18/1998
ComposedDate_Time:	2:21:21 PM
Subject:	Assassination Records Review Board news release

NEWS RELEASEFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: EILEEN SULLIVANMAY 18, 1998 (202) 724-0088, EXT. 253U.S. SUPREME COURT RULES ON FILES OF FORMER NEW ORLEANS DISTRICT ATTORNEY JIM GARRISONTHE Assassination Records Review Board announced today that the United States Supreme Court agreed to let stand an order requiring the New Orleans District Attorney to deliver to the Review Board original records related to the assassination of President Kennedy. The Court rejected the petition by New Orleans District Attorney Harry Connick, Sr. to prevent the transfer of records. This ruling upholds the Fifth Circuit Courtï¾€s decision to transfer original files of the investigation of Clay Shaw by the former District Attorney Jim Garrison. These records ultimately will be transferred to the JFK Collection at the National Archives and Records Administration. ï¾€We are pleased by the action of the Supreme Court,ï¾€ said Judge John R. Tunheim, Chair of the Review Board. i¾€We look forward to working with District Attorney Connick to transfer these records to the JFK Collection so that the American public can see more about this chapter of the assassination of President Kennedy.ï¾€The Assassination Records Review Board was established by the JFK Act, which was signed into law by President George Bush. The five members of the Board wereappointed by President Clinton, confirmed by the U.S. Senate, and sworn in on April11, 1994. The law gives the Review Board the mandate and the authority to identify, secure, and make available all records related to the assassination of President Kennedy. It is the responsibility of the Board to determine which records are to be made public immediately and which ones will have postponed release dates. The Review Board consists of the following members:Honorable John R. Tunheim, Chair; U.S. District Court Judge, District of Minnesota.Dr. Henry F. Graff; Professor Emeritus of History at Columbia University.Dr. Kermit L. Hall; Dean, College of Humanities, and Professor of History at The Ohio State University.Dr. William L. Joyce; Associate University Librarian for Rare Books and Special Collections at Princeton University.Dr. Anna K. Nelson; Distinguished Adjunct Historian in Residence at The American University.-30-

Body: recstat: **DeliveryPriority: DeliveryReport: ReturnReceipt: Categories:** 

Record

Ν

В